Options

Possibility of doing this self-study?

sleemiesleemie Member Posts: 109
Was wondering if you think it's likely I could get my CCNP through self-study alone.

Here's some background.

1. I currently work in desktop support and I have some networking experience, but on servers, not on switches.

2. I got my CCNA in 2006 through self-study with limited resources. I had no hardware and just one book and one set of practice exams. I used the Boson sims. I think this required a certain degree of aptitude for the subject. I feel I'm reasonably intelligent, but not like super smart or anything. I'm NOT a computer geek at all where I eat and breath this stuff. Outside of work I just use my computer for the basic stuff. I don't go running around getting all excited about some new system that's coming out and yammering on about Megahertz and Gigabytes and get all worked up...it's just a machine used to serve a purpose.

I thought I would have more items to mention, but that's pretty much it. This time I would invest in all the appropriate hardware and multiple books and a good practice exam.

So...what's the concensus??

Comments

• Options
    miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897
    You can do it. It will not be easy, but with the proper resources and time commitments it can be done. I have just completed my CCNP, it took me 11 months. I treated the task at hand like a full time job and spent at least 40 hours a week dedicated to the cause.
    I don't claim to be an expert, but I sure would like to become one someday.

Quest for 11K pages read in 2011
    Page Count total to date - 1283
  • Options
    sleemiesleemie Member Posts: 109
    40 hours a week?? whew. Thanx for the vote of encouragement. I'm assuming there's already a thread on here laying out all you need for the task. Could you point me to it, or you probably know yourself instead.
  • Options
    cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    sleemie wrote: