Good Study Habits?

garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
I'm currently a Systems Admin who also is learning the Cisco gear & VLANS at work. I have a hard time actually studying for exams, I'm whipped when I get home & the last thing I want to do is get on a PC. I would rather discuss work at the bar, golf, shop, or relax. If I could just cram for 2 weeks, I'm set. I have to set a date with Prometric a month ahead of time & I still wait till 2 weeks before studying. Anyone understand? Where do you fit the studying time in with social life? you feel me?

Comments

• lazyartlazyart Member Posts: 483
    No matter when I schedule my exam, it's the last 7-10 days that I study with any urgency. I've just come to accept this. If I don't set a date then I won't get serious about hitting the books. At the same time I don't like making my appointment until I am ready.

Silly circle. A goal is just a dream with a deadline. I understand myself more after going thru 4 cert exams. Just the way I am.
    I'm not a complete idiot... some parts are missing.
  • garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    I hear you. Your currently studying 70-290 also? Hows that going?
  • keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    i hear you i'm 5 chapters left in todds book for ccna, and should have finished it last week but i have had life kick in .. not been able to work in my home lab due to waiting on parts ( cables and wics) but after i get over being sick icon_redface.gif i should get the focus back
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • tahjzhuantahjzhuan Member Posts: 288 ■■■■□□□□□□
    i play cbts right before i go to sleep...

then i wake up like "dns?"

it's crazy, just do it in moderation
  • xeviousxevious Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I try to get most of my studying done at work, not so much a disregard for my duties... but the topic is close enough to where it's applicable.