Mysterious storage question

undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
We had a problem yesterday with our server attached to our md3000. The server unexpectedly restarted and went into a chkdsk finding a lot of corruption on one of our volumes on the md3000. Upon finishing all of the data on that particular volume was trashed but all other volumes were fine. Checking the event logs we saw several hours worth of NTFS errors "The file system structure on the disk is corrupt and unusable. Please run the chkdsk utility on the volume New Volume." One of the admins here got on the phone with Dell and he claims that since there was no lun 31 established for that server that is why the server could no longer see the data and that is why it got trashed. I am not a storage expert so that is why I am asking here. Could the loss of lun 31 affect access to the data whatsoever? Further more would the loss of lun 31 cause a server to reboot unexpectedly? We also had a user on Friday have deleted data reappear on that volume mysteriously which may have been a related symptom. I'm not buying into the explanation that is being presented to me that someone removing lun 31 would cause a server to reboot and data corruption. Management is done of out-of-band. Anyone care to take a shot at this one?
Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/

Comments

• tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    If an FS is sufficiently corrupted then it can make the OS panic. It will see things that don't make sense or shouldn't ever happen. There are only so many safeguards and checks you can put in before it will start to negatively impact performance which isn't something you really want in your FS code.
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    And would having lun 31 not set up cause a corrupt file system on the storage array?
    Is LUN 31 the volume that is damaged?
  • astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    tiersten wrote: