Options

The road to a job with Java... is this realistic?

northcuttcuttsnorthcuttcutts Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I want to give some information in general on my background, tell you what I plan to do right now, then hear some opinions back if this is even a realistic goal or not. I know there should be some on here who can give some good advice so that's why I am here :)

My rant:
My current job is in system engineering providing technical documentation and ensuring system requirements. I HATE it, but I am happy to have a job period with this economy. It is also shift and half my weekends (I HATE that too.) It's been 2 1/2 years with this job after I graduated, so it wears on you after a while. I would just take a few more programming classes, but my schedule doesn't really allow for it.

Goal:
An entry level job with Java application development.

Degree materials that should help:
B.S. in Electrical Engineering (the close cousin to Comp. Eng.).
-2 classes in C/C++ (not as many as Comp. Eng.)
-Comp. architecture class - working with Motorola 68k
-FPGA class & project with VHDL
-Extensive use of algorithms especially in MATLAB
-Many math courses

Other things that probably can help:
-TS clearance
-I have developed Perl scripts and used/added to libraries for very specific tasks at my current job and became quite proficient with it.
-I have done small specific applications with VB at another job.
-Proficient user with UNIX

The plan from here:
I have lots of spare time at work and a Java SDK!!!! There are 2 people I know at work who would like a specific application written for them to peform rather simple tasks so I am probably going to take them up on that. I want to also get a SCJP just to have it for something official. By then I should be somewhat proficient. I think at this point I would attempt to apply for jobs, but still try to get another project under me.

So is this realistic or too far out there?

Comments

• Options