Trouble adding Member Server to virtual domain

Hi,

I am studying for the 70-290 exam so have created a MS Virtual Win 2003 box as a DC.
I have now created a Member Server and when I try to add this to the existing domain it says it cannot locate it.

I have set them up using the following IP information

Domain Controller:
IP: 192.168.24.1
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.24.100
DNS: 192.168.25.100 & 192.168.26.100

Member Server
IP: 192.168.24.2
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.24.100
DNS: 192.168.25.100 & 192.168.26.100

They are both running using MS Virtual PC 2005
They are both running off of the same Win XP box
They are both using NAT settings instead of my main pc's wireless card so as to stop them continually flagging IP Conflict errors.

Im obviously doing something stupid and was wondering if anybody could help me get my Member server to connect to the domain.

Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    Dunno if it's related to your problem, but you're supposed to set any VM to obtain IP address automatically when you set their network to NAT.
    Good luck to all!
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Does the DNS server you are pointing to have the domain zone in it? Most likely you only have the DNS on your DC 192.168.24.1 as the one that contains the zone information. You will want to point the member server to that DNS server so that it can find the domain.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What undomiel said.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • surfthegeckosurfthegecko Member Posts: 149