thanks everybody!

tdempseytdempsey Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
It's appreciated!

Comments

• gwamakagwamaka Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You are welcome ! Would you mind to share study methods, resources used( books, CBTs etc) and the duration of your preparation. Also your IT background and experience will be useful.

Congratlations !
  • tdempseytdempsey Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I crammed for about 4 hours a day for 4 weeks using Shon Harris's third edition book and videos. I would say that this material covered about 90% of what I saw on the test. I really didn't use anything else. This wasn't hard timewise as I am currently unemployed. I don't know about most people but when I am studying this kind of technical material, I usually have to let stuff digest after 4-6 hours and I can't continue to cram effectively. I start to lose my concentration and it just doesn't work. That being said, there were days when I did study longer and it's usually because I was really interested in the subject like cryptography.

I will also say that I had lots of recent experience with PKI, IPSec VPN, Content filtration and had sat in on a bunch of meetings for identity management at my last job and had a firm grasp on these concepts which was a big benefit across the board. I also sat for and passed the S+ a few years ago and some of the material was repeat.

After I made it through all the material the first time, which I intentionally timed to be one week before the exam, I started taking the practice tests included with the book and some from cccure. The first battery of practice tests were humbling and I realized I hadn't absorbed as much as I thought. So, I studied more, going over in the book and the videos some areas that I was weak in until my scores improved. I was not comfortable with anything less than high 80s.