Options

Atm, PPPoE and PPPoA

kpjunglekpjungle Member Posts: 426
Hi,

I am studying up on the different PPPoX stuff, and i find it confusing why you dont use PPPoE when the service-provider interface is Ethernet, and PPPoA when the interface is ATM. Why the PPPoE on an ATM interface?

As I would understand it, you would use encapsulate PPP into an ethernet frame on an ethernet interface (PPPoE). You would encapsulate PPP into an ATM cell on an ATM interface (PPPoA)... but alas, the PPPoE on an ATM is escaping me.

I think im missing some key-piece here to understand that part.

If someone could shed some light on that, more than what has already been mentioned on the forums, I would appreciate it. Thanks!
Studying for CCNP (All done)

Comments

• Options
    WRKNonCCNPWRKNonCCNP Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I had a similar problem when i was studying for the ISCW (need to update sig). PPPoE with an Ethernet interface encapsulates the PPP PDU into an Ethernet frame which is transported out the Ethernet interface toward the service provider. Simple enough.

PPPoE with an outbound ATM interface still encapsulates the PPP PDU in an Ethernet frame, but that Ethernet frame (and PPP payload) is transported in the payload of ATM cells. Think of the ATM portion of this connection kinda like a tunnel. The ATM cells are transported using the pvc (vpi/vci) to the DSLAM or Aggregation router, where ever the ATM pvc terminates. Once there, the ATM headers are removed, the ATM cells are reassembled, and you have PPP encapsulated in Ethernet again, where it is dealt with accordingly. I think PPPoE with an ATM interface just allows you to use an ATM network to pass your PPPoE frames between the CPE and whichever device terminates the ATM pvc.

Hope that helps. The cisco exam cert guide didn't do too good a job of explaining that stuff IMO.
  • Options
    lildeezullildeezul Member Posts: 404
    so is PPPoe on atm interface like PPPoAoE ?