Options

MCSA - Overall Practice/Workbook Solution?

stevem5kstevem5k Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all, I've been working through the MCSA 2003 program over the past few months and I only have 291 left to tackle. Hopefully I will sit the exam at the beginning of the year.

I have been using MS-Press and CBT-Nuggets to get through and so far I have scored very well on my exams, but in all honesty, since I'm not currently working in the IT field, I really feel like I'm just learning topics and exams and its not tying itself altogether. I was curious if any of you have been able to find some sort of "workbook" or a book that basically contains excercises that would lead you in lab exercises where you take, for example, a small start-up business and then gradually expand the company/network/enterprise larger and larger and use all of the skills you've learned.

I realize that in essence, thats what the MS-Press books, but they are spread out over multiple books and lack "real-life" scenarios. I'm sure that there some college-level/lab-book style prints out there that would be laid out the way I've described but I've not seen them and am not quite sure where to look. If there isn't, well then there should be...

Any tips or pointers in the right direction would be great, thanks!

Comments

• Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    Hi stevem5k - I wish I had an answer for you, I'd love a book like this as well! I just started my studies for the 290 exam, and I'm also looking for (hopefully reasonably priced) supplemental books to help round out my studies to include more real life scenarios. Someone did recommend a general Server 2003 book to me, but I haven't looked too far into it - I'll check my notes and post back later if I come across the title.

Good luck with your studies!
    Currently Studying For: Nothing (cert-wise, anyway)
    Next Up: Security+, 291?

Enrolled in Masters program: CS 2011 expected completion
  • Options