New to the civilian sector

JoeTramonteJoeTramonte Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I served 10 years in the Air Force and have recently gotten out I was a Computer Operator in the Air Force for my entire time. I spent 6 months at a newspaper as a unix engineer I was recently laid off. I got the job off of dated Unix certs (Solaris 7 and eight kept making a smily face if I used the number) However Im much more comfortable in the windows arena now. I just recently pick up my MCITP Windows Server 2008 Server Admin books I actually have done rather well on the pre test but beside the point.

My Unix certs got the attention of my past employer however right now I have CCNA, A+ and the MCITP Windows Server 2008 Server Admin im really going to focus on the MCITP but what about the other two Im located in the San Antonio area. Also other recommendations welcome also

Here is a general synopsis of skills of my resume briefly

Platform or Application
Expertise Level
Length of Time

Active Directory
High
5 years
Net Backup
High
7 years
Microsoft Exchange
High
8 years
Windows NT Server
High
8 years
Solaris 8
Moderate
3 years
Trusted Solaris
Moderate
2 years
Information Security
High
9 years
Windows Server 2003
Moderate to High
3 years
Desktop/User Support
High
9 years
Cisco VPN
Moderate
1 year

Any info would be greatly appreciated
You can have anything you want, if you want it badly enough. You can be anything you want to be, do anything you set out to accomplish, if you hold to that desire with singleness of purpose. - Abraham Lincoln

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Welcome to Techexams and the civilian world! Myself and quite a few other members here are former military and have made the transition so hopefully we can provide some great assistance.