Passed the ONT!

Met44Met44 Member Posts: 194
I am very relieved to be able to say that I passed the ONT exam this morning! This was my first CCNP test - and it has truly made me appreciate the dedication that must go into completing the certification.

Notes for others... the majority of my studying was from the Network Academy ONT course (which I aced). I used the Cisco Press Official Exam book for review, and Dynamips for additional labs beyond the course labs. I've been working heavily with VoIP (but not much QoS) for around 6-8 months.

If I could change one thing about my preparation for this exam it would be this: I really neglected wireless management and security ("how much can really be on a QoS exam?" I wondered). Well, don't do that.

Next up will be the ISCW, planned for late May. I was considering pursuing the CCNA Voice, but the objectives don't match as well as I had hoped with ONT, and I would have to complete it before classes resume in mid-January. Instead, I'll just get a head start on the ISCW.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Congrats on the pass!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • jamesp1983jamesp1983 Member Posts: 2,475 ■■■■□□□□□□
    congrats man!! I'm studying for this one now.
    "Check both the destination and return path when a route fails." "Switches create a network. Routers connect networks."
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congratulations! icon_rendeer.gif
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • mikearamamikearama Member Posts: 749
    Yeah, I'm into this one as well to finish my NP.

So bigtime congrats.
    There are only 10 kinds of people... those who understand binary, and those that don't.

CCIE Studies: Written passed: Jan 21/12 Lab Prep: Hours reading: 385. Hours labbing: 110

Taking a time-out to add the CCVP. Capitalizing on a current IPT pilot project.
  • redwarriorredwarrior Member Posts: 285