Maybe the third time will be a charm

sboykinssboykins Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I really need help...I failed my Security+ exam for the second time (620 score)...Granted the first time I didn't take the test seriously. I am relatively new to the security field, but I want to grow in knowledge and understanding. I do work as a Security Analyst, basically I do internal auditing and vulnerability assessment scans. I feel like I am at the bottom and I really want to work my way to the top....I need to pass my certification to move forward in my career and re-gain confidence in myself. I am confused as to how I should study, should I get another book, software, etc...your advice is greatly appreciated. :)

I used the following study materials.
CompTia- Security+ certification study guide – book really sucked
Mike Myers – Security+ - excellent book
Introduction to Network Security+ - good book
Security+ for dummies – not so good study material

Comments

• gwamakagwamaka Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Do you have any background in networking? I have noticed that people who have little background or experience in networking tend to have a little difficulty in the Security+ exam. You may think of doing Network+ or even CCNA prior to doing Security+. A lot of this will make sense and you will have a much easier time with the Security+ exam.

You may also try to use the Syngress Security+ study guide , as it is very comprehensive compared to other guides such as the Sybex study guide. Try to get hold of the transcender practice exams for Security +, they have very good practice questions and they provide good explanation of the concepts.

HTH

sboykins wrote:
    Hello everyone,