Lessons Learned from ICND1

nevolvednevolved Member Posts: 131
1) Far easier than I thought it would be
2) Shorter than I thought it would be
3) A good examination that really tests skills that a network engineer should have

Materials Used:
CBT Nuggets = Watched 2.5 times

Cisco Press ICND1 book(odom) = Read once, used the included Boson test CD (160 questions, which are really awesome to practice with) and also used the study sheets included on the Cisco Press CD(basically all the tables from the book accumulated into 14 pages printed)

CCNA 6th edition (Lammle) = Read once all the way through, did all exercises and questions for all pertinent chapters

I had a couple of old Catalyst switches and a 2600 series router that I constantly practiced on (including most of the configuration required for ICND2).

I spent a few extra weeks(then I wanted to) studying for this exam, but only because I couldn't book an earlier exam date. I started studying about 2.5 months ago.

Score:985

Thanks,

Comments

• jmc012jmc012 Member Posts: 134
    Congrats!, It's nice to hear someone say it's easier than they thought. icon_smile.gif Would you say the Boson test CD is pretty comparable in how hard it is? I've been through about the same study materials as you except I have read The Ultimate CCNA Study Package by Chris Bryant a couple times. I really like his material, I can read through it in couple days. I think I will keep studying a few more months though just to be sure.
    Jim
  • nevolvednevolved Member Posts: 131
    I'd say that if you understand all of the questions on that CD, then you should have zero trouble taking the exam. Though I definitely would not say that those 160 questions cover ALL of the material on the exam. However, the way the questions represent the material is very similar to how the real test is.

To sum up: If you can take the exam on the CD (as you would take the real exam, without looking up the questions), then you probably will do great!