Options

MCSE or CCNA???

wedge1988wedge1988 Member Posts: 434 ■■■□□□□□□□
Let me fill you in; im currently studying the 70-291 exam, and i already know about 60% of it. in 2 months i should be going for the exam (providing all goes to plan) which will give my my MCSA. yay!

now; whats more valuable for me to do? ive always wanted to go for the MCSE, which would be great for my server knowledge, but i seem to think that if i go for CCNA (which will take me a while, i know) it would benefit me more? Its not as though im in desperate need of the CCNA i just think itd look better on the resume with the MCSA...

or... if i go for the MCSE; as im assuming, would it be easier and faster to go for the other 3 certs for the MCSE, get that then do CCNA? any ideas of time scales? it usually takes me 3 months per MCP, but having an MCSA at which time, should benefit towards obtaining the MCSE?

Advice people???

thanks!
~ wedge1988 ~ IdioT Certified~
MCSE:2003 ~ MCITP:EA ~ CCNP:R&S ~ CCNA:R&S ~ CCNA:Voice ~ Office 2000 MASTER ~ A+ ~ N+ ~ C&G:IT Diploma ~ Ofqual Entry Japanese

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    The one that will be easier will be the one you are the most familiar with. If you have been doing the MS exams it will probably be easier for you to just keep going on that path.

Which one will be more valuable depends on your experience. If you have a bunch of MS experience and no Cisco experience then the CCNA isn't going to help you as much as the MCSE.

Same goes for the time frame it will take to complete.

So to wrap it all up it all depends on your background, experience and what you want to do with your career. Neither is "better" they are different paths.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    davidspirovalentinedavidspirovalentine Member Posts: 353 ■■■■□□□□□□