Options

New to this field...just some questions...

MissluvlieMissluvlie Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello! I am so happy that I have found this site! :D
Anyhow. On January 5th, I will be starting classes for an Associates degree in Information Technology-Computer Support.

I chose this field because computers are my hobby and I KNOW that I will be successful at it. I do have a few questions though, as I am new to all of this. First of all, what type of salary would I make in this feild? I mean, just a ballpark range, because I know that it depends on where and who you work for. (I am in Ohio-Cleveland area)

Is it easy to find a job straight out of school without prior employment experience? Or will it be one of those catch 22's where you need experience for the jobs, but you need the job for experience?

Finally, the classes they have me taking relevant to my major are Database design,A+ certification,Server+ certification,Network + certification,CCNA Certification,and Programming I.

Will this be sufficient in the career field or should I double major in Applications or Web Page design as well? I just don't want to go through 2 years of school and find out that my degree means nothing. Speaking of which, is an Associates degree sufficient for entry level careers? I would hate to go through this to find that all employers require a Bachelor's or higher.

Yes, I know I am a bit naive when it comes to this...but hopefully I have found a forum with nice people that are helpful and can get me off on the right foot. Thanks in advance!
~Missluvlie

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Yes, you can find a job outside of school. Degrees in your field are always good to have, as many companies are "old school" and don't always recognize certs...I think they are just unaware of certs and their value.
    If you know someone in the IT field who can put a good word in for you...that helps A LOT! that's how I got my current job.