questions about different routers for home lab

bambam123bambam123 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
so i'm studying for the ccna exam and i decided to start getting equipment for a home lab. I know for a fact i'm getting the 2950 switch but i'm having trouble in deciding on the routers. What's the difference between the 2501 and the 2503 and the 2514 and the 2524 and which one is the best out of the four? They are all pretty much the same price at cablesandkits.com

Comments

• ULWizULWiz Member Posts: 722
    Check out the FAQ under the CCNA forum got answers for everything you need.

I would at least get a 2610 or a 2620 as a router for the CCNA
    CompTIA A+ Nov 25, 1997
    CompTIA Network+ March 7, 2008
    MCTS Vista 620 June 14, 2008
    MCP Server 290 Nov 15, 2008
    MCP Server 291 In Progress (Exam 12/28/09)
    Cisco CCENT In Progress
    MCP Server 291 In Progress
    C|EH In Progress
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Check out table 1 (or table 1-1 -- but the images aren't working in this one right now).

Different version of the 2500 series routers have either Ethernet or Token Ring interfaces plus the built in Serial WAN interfaces.
    Some have IDSN interfaces (and some don't -- the 2503 is a 2501+BRI Interface).
    Some models have built in Ethernet Hubs (so you don't need a trasceiver).
    Some models have multiple LAN interfaces.
    Some models are multiport Serial WAN interface models.

The 2501 has the AUI Ethernet and 2 Serial WAN Interfaces.
    The 2503 has the AUI Ethernet and 2 Serial WAN Interfaces and 1 ISDN BRI Interface.
    The 2514 has TWO AUI Ethernet and 2 Serial WAN Interfaces.

The 2513, 2514, & 2515 were the dual LAN interface version. The 2514 had the dual AUI Ethernet interfaces. The 2513 is the 1 Ethernet and 1 Token Ring Model. The 2515 was the Dual Token Ring model.

The 2524 added a couple of modular slots (and gave up an interface or two) -- not that useful if they don't come with the interfaces.