Options

Thoughts on study time

ospreyosprey Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
First of all, I passed today (yay me), though with only a 772 (passing is 764). This didn't surprise me, considering the very little studying I did.

I've been reading a lot of recommendations for using lots of study guides and taking weeks or months to study for the Security+. I have 3 years experience in the field and this test completed my MCSE. Maybe thanks partly to that, or maybe not, I was able to pass after studying a single Sec+ book (Exam Cram 2) over the course of 4 days. So, it can be passed quickly with a single book if you know some of the material from experience already.

I don't want to to mislead anyone into thinking that this is a safe way to go about it. It's a $225 exam, afterall. My point is to provide the other crammers (like me) out there with a viewpoint a little contrary to the majority ones that recommend more books and more studying than most exams. I passed all of my MS exams on single books and Security+ is doable this way, as well.

I have a job interview tomorrow (I'll be able to tell them I'm MCSE and Sec+ now instead of just MCSA), so that was the main reason why I crammed. If I had had more time, I would've used it, especially in hindsight.

Regarding the Exam Cram 2 book, it covers 95% of what's on the exam. If you buy it, I recommend getting the bundle that includes the practice exams book (700 extra questions). It's only $6 more at Amazon.com than the book, alone.

Anyways, if there are any others out there who have experience, have taken at least a few network-oriented certs, and just need or what to pass in the least amount of time necessary, that's how I did it. Remember that I came close to failing, though, so consider my approach to be the bare minimum required (unless you're already a security expert).

Good luck.
-Jon
MCSE 2k3 & 2k, MCSA 2K3 & 2k, Security+

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Congratulations!