MCSE?

FluxCapacitorFluxCapacitor Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently a senior in high school and I am going to take the 70-291 exam in a couple weeks and I will have my MCSA. I have no work experience in IT. I was wondering if I should continue on to my MCSE or if I should stop with Microsoft and focus on another cert like CCENT or Linux+? I'm afraid that if I graduate from High School with an MCSE, companies will think I'm a joke because I have no experience other than the classroom. When I graduate from High School I'm going to pursue a bachelors degree in Network Security. What should I do?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    What makes you think they will not think you are a joke with any certs and no experience?

I'd suggest you move forward with your education and try to get some experience under your belt. If you do earn all the certs nothing says you have to list them on your resume if you think they will harm you, but I think the certs should compliment experience not substitute. How can you be a MCSE or MCSA if you have never administrated or engineered a Windows environment???

Just my $.02

Good luck in what ever path you choose. You sound like you have a good plan moving forward with your education.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • ULWizULWiz Member Posts: 722
    I would still continue your pursuit for your MCSE since Your most likely going to start in Helpdesk either way. Keep working at your certs and try and get into the field once out of HS.

Keep up the good work and good luck on the 291 exam
    CompTIA A+ Nov 25, 1997
    CompTIA Network+ March 7, 2008
    MCTS Vista 620 June 14, 2008
    MCP Server 290 Nov 15, 2008
    MCP Server 291 In Progress (Exam 12/28/09)
    Cisco CCENT In Progress
    MCP Server 291 In Progress
    C|EH In Progress
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□