Issues with Server Install

skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
Alrighty, let me preface this with the fact that I'm a total noob when it comes to server installations and server setup. I've just started on my 290 studies and am going through the exercises in the MS Press book. But I'm stuck on some stuff in the server configuration (Chapter 1, Exercise 3: Configuring the Server).

The choices I am presented in the "Configure Your Server Wizard" do not match up with what I'm told to do or shown that I would see in the text, and I'm not quite sure why. (It might be because I installed SP2, or it's because there's an unstated/unspecified "typical setup for first server" option that wasn't presented to me because of one of the reasons listed here.) The book makes it seem like I can install DHCP, Active Directory, DNS Server, and create the contoso.com domain all in one fell swoop, but I've had to do piece by piece setup. Yar. icon_mad.gif

It also give a laundry list of configurations/installations/setups that are theoretically automatically part of the process after reboot, but I'm not finding it so:
- Assign static IP address x.x.x.x (did get a pop up to do this during one part of the install process, too frustrated & brain too fried now to remember which part)
- Install DHCP Server (had to do this separately after doing the Domain Controller/Active Directory setup)
- Install Active Directory (this was the first step I was able to do)
- Install DNS server (did this second or third, after AD install)
- Assign DNS forwarder x.x.x.x (I believe this was part of the DNS install wizard)
- Configure and activate DHCP scope x.x.x.x - x.x.x.x (I was able to configure/set the scope during the DHCP setup process, but I think I had to manually activate the DHCP scope...I manually made some changes after the fact to the addresses/scope to exclude a range of addresses that I have in use already with my home [workgroup] network to avoid any possible conflicts)