ESXi question

CorySCoryS Member Posts: 208
Can someone please explain to me if there is any way to create virtual machines on a machine loaded with ESXi that doesnt require me buying the VI product after 60 days? I am having a hoot of a time understanding the benefit of the hypervisor being free if there is nothing readily available to create hosts (no matter how that would be accomplished) from I see I cant even do it through the command line? What about creating them through vmserver and using the vmcenter converter to bring them over? Is that an option???

Please some insight would be very welcome!

Thank you!

(esx newbie here, please be gentle!)
MCSE tests left: 294, 297 |

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Are you using Virtual Center or the VI client? I don't remember there being any limitations on the VIC. I haven't used ESXi myself, but I thought you could just connect to it with VIC (should be downloadable by accessing your ESXi host via HTTP).
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm pretty sure dynamik is right... there should have been a VI Client package that came with your ESXi installation. Try https://esxi_servername from your PC and see if there's a link to download the client to your PC.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□
    These two are correct.
  • CorySCoryS Member Posts: 208
    Wow. The link directly to VIC was biting me in the nose and I missed it.. Thanks for a gentle push in the right direction.

.... i was looking for legacy versions of it, oh boy, long day..

Thanks again.