Failed twice; last attempt?!; take a class?!

seansabianseansabian Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just took the exam for the second time; scored a 645. I failed it again. The first time (August 200icon_cool.gif I scored a 615. I used the Exam Force materials and several text books. I am not saying the materials did not help. I have been in IT since 1999. I have been a network admin since 2003. I know access control and certificates tripped me up. But there were questions the study materials did not cover. :-0 I normally don't attempt cert exams after failing twice. I missed MS Access 2003 twice. Never bother with it again. However, I want to get this one under my belt. I am considering taking a the Security+ class at Microtrain. After six months of self study, maybe there are some concepts I just can't get one my own.

I appreciate any comments.
~ Sean

Comments

• jnwdmbjnwdmb Member Posts: 99 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No offense, but if you know what tripped you up, why do you feel passing is such a big obstacle? Maybe try a different book, or get a cbt. Work on the areas that you know you are weak in, and take it again. After sitting it twice you should have a good idea of what to improve and what you do know.
    A+ IT Technician, Network +, Security+
    MCSA:M, MCSE:S
    (MS 270,290,291,293,294,298,299)
    MS Exchange 2003 (70-284)
    MCTS: Server 2K8 Virtualization(70-652 & 70-403)
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    use both the sybex and syngress books, and if there's a topic u didnt understand, google it until u master it

i heard transcender practice exams are good

don't give up, I'm sure u can
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Go with Transcender and a CBT and save a ton of money over a class. If you have any questions, we'll be here icon_cool.gif
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    All good advice.