Moving from Canada to US, need help

nasunasu Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,
I currently live in Toronto, Canada where weather is not for someone like me.. very cold here 8 months it`s freezing, snow and salty roads and the 4 months where it`s supposed to be a nice summer, we got last year all summer rain.

So I decided in order for me to enjoy life :) swimming, ride my sport bike all year long and have fun with the boat or a seadoo I will have to move somewhere where weather gives me that opportunity. I doing some research about California vs Florida. I never been there yet, I am planning to have a 4 weeks minimum trip before actually moving, to check out all the pros and cons.

(Let me tell you a bit about my profession)
I have an advanced college diploma 3 years plus a BA in computer science I am a network admin and security administrator in IT with couple of certificates as well. My gf has a BA in Sociology and couple of insurance certificates and working in insurance here in Canada.

I would like you guys to recommend some cities in both states, and tell me the pros and cos in your opinion. Make sure you take in consideration the job oppotunities, house prices, life styles, weather, etc :)

I really appreciate your replies,
George

Comments

• astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    We'll be sorry to see you go, but I couldn't live in Toronto either. ;)

What citizenship do you hold (tell me it's dual ;))? It will be difficult (if not impossible) to get a US work visa given the number of US citizens out of work right now (a number that is growing fast in IT/high-tech these past couple of weeks).

As for California and Florida, I'm not sure how much luck you're going to have finding a job in either state. Both have been substantially hit by layoffs, it's places like Dallas, TX etc, that aren't suffering as bad. But that doesn't exactly line up with your hobbies.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod