Options

A+ ESSENTIALS & Which Elective

t00narmyt00narmy Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am due to take the A+ Essentials in a 2 days .. which Elective is the easiest to take after to become an A+ ?

Do you have any recommondations on free test exams and what is mainly covered ?

As sockets/slots come up in a few practice exams - but are they more related to the old A+?

Also I have a BSc in IT Degree - but no experience.

I am due to also take MCP XP and Server 2003 .. What is the best route to become a network engineer when you have no experience ?

How long does it take ?

Cheers

Comments

• Options
    DerekAustin26DerekAustin26 Member Posts: 275
    It really depends on what you wanna do.

602 - IT Technician... Desktop Support/ On-site technician - Basically the Jack of all Trades type Elective. You gotta know what your doing if your physically at the station and have full responsibility for any software/hardware changes/upgrades/break-fxes
    Most marketable Cert of the 3 Electives

603 - Remote Desktop Technician... Like it sounds - "remote desktop support/software support" A little easier because you dont have to be there, dont have as much responsibility since you are remote. But you will have to get use to Automated Re-images and Remote Assistance/Desktop software.
    Very popular since there are soo many helpdesks/callcenters these days and growing.

604 - Bench Technician ... This is again like it sounds.. You sit at a bench and replace/upgrade hardware all day.. Basically like your local Bestbuy/Radioshack techs do in the back. Though this particular elective concentrates on physical hardware/upgrades..
    least marketable..

Hope this helps
  • Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409