Need help with script

ssjaronx4ssjaronx4 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I need to write a script which can read in usernames from a CSV file one at a time and search three different forests until it finds the account. I then need it to output the domain or the user and export them all to a file.

I'm not too good at writting this sort of thing but I do know a bit of powershell. I can get it to read in the names, search and output to a text file using the command:

import-csv c:\names.txt | foreach {$._name} | get-qaduser | fl UserPrincipalName >> c:\Output.txt

As this is searching just the domain I'm in, when it reads in a name from one of the other domains \ forests it cannot find it and fails. Does anyone know how I can get the above command to ignore failures and continue to the next name?

Also, if anyone could help me turn this into one script to search each domain using the -service parameter that would be great as even if I can get this to ignore any failures I'm still gunna gunna have to run it 3 times in order to get a full list of UPNs.

Any suggestions are very much appiciated.

Thanks guys,

Aron

Comments

• HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    If somebody doesn't respond before then, be patient, I can help you out with this tonight.
    Good luck to all!
  • ssjaronx4ssjaronx4 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    That would be great if you could Hero.

I've managed to find a way to do this but its not very efficient.

What I've done is use DSQuery in a batch file. First it searches all 4 domains within my forest:

DSQuery user -name XXXX -startnode forestroot >> c:\Output.txt

Next it searches a 3 domains outside of my forest:

DSQuery user -name XXXX -domain Domain.ForestA.com >> c:\Output.txt
    DSQuery user -name XXXX -domain Domain.ForestB.com >> c:\Output.txt
    DSQuery user -name XXXX -domain Domain.ForestC.com >> c:\Output.txt