Options

Combination MSCE/CCNA lab with VMware

Basically I have quite a bit of money to burn and want your guys' advice for setting up a lab of this sort . I am going to have my CCNA lab totally setup in a week or so and have been looking into VMware to virtualize a Windows client/server environment.

I am new to VMware. I was thinking of just putting together an XP 64-bit rig with 8GB RAM and intalling multiple NICs. Or at least this is my understanding of how it should be done through reading other forums. I just don't know what version of VMware I need. Workstation? Server? I am more than willing to spend the money on a licensed copy.

Do many of you have this kind of lab setup for learning both MCSE and CCNA curriculum?

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'd tell you, but since you have so much extra money to burn, it's going to cost you ;)

Yea, that's fine. I like the features in Workstation, but if you're building something from the ground-up, you might want to look at something that's ESXi compatible.
  • Options
    ElvisGElvisG Member Posts: 167
    I just started the same project. I'm working on my MCSA and CCNA. My setup is a old dell running Ubuntu and VMware Server 2. I have 2x Win 2003 Server Enterprise and and 1x XP Pro VM. I don't have the funds now unless I sell my Canon camera gear to purchase 2x CISCO 25xx router and 1x CISCO 2950 switch. So that has to wait until next month.

My plan is to just purchase the exam study books and follow the exam objectives.
  • Options
    djhss68djhss68 Member Posts: 205
    ElvisG wrote: »
    I just started the same project. I'm working on my MCSA and CCNA. My setup is a old dell running Ubuntu and VMware Server 2. I have 2x Win 2003 Server Enterprise and and 1x XP Pro VM. I don't have the funds now unless I sell my Canon camera gear to purchase 2x CISCO 25xx router and 1x CISCO 2950 switch. So that has to wait until next month.