certification path

mayank2711mayank2711 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi there i m a novice in this forum.i want to make a career in computer/network/cyber security.i will complete my graduation in may 2005 and will go for MS(USA) in september 2006.my major is computer science and i want to have 'security' as my field of specialization.i will have 14 months to collect certifications before i leave for usa.can anybody tell me what should be my certification path considering me as a lay man.

Comments

• skully93skully93 Member Posts: 323 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The Security+ is supposed to be the low-end. There a several MS exams you can peek at too, though most would require you to have your MCSA at least to put to any good use.

I figure once I get my MCSE +Security, I'll probably see if I can go the Cisco route. I would trust the network to be secure on the outside a lot more than the inside.
    I do not have a psychiatrist and I do not want one, for the simple reason that if he listened to me long enough, he might become disturbed.

-- James Thurber
  • garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    Just get your MCSA, then focus on Cisco. Once you get into Cisco, put some focus into finishing your MCSE.
  • nightstrm_utnightstrm_ut Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    garv221 wrote:
    Just get your MCSA, then focus on Cisco. Once you get into Cisco, put some focus into finishing your MCSE.
    Yep, that is exactly my plan... get my MCSA: Security then start into the Cisco stuff.
  • mayank2711mayank2711 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    so you mean to say my certification path should be likt this
    A+
    NETWORK+
    SECURITY+
    MCSA
    CISCO
    MCSE

rite or wrong plz help
  • nightstrm_utnightstrm_ut Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    mayank2711 wrote:
    A+
    NETWORK+
    SECURITY+
    MCSA
    CISCO
    MCSE

rite or wrong plz help