Options

Symmetric vs Asymmetric Encryption

arthaxerxesarthaxerxes Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am studying for Security+ and plan to take it in a week. I find it hard to remember which protocol or Service uses which type of encryption. For example for SSL, which encryption (Symmetric or Asymmetric) is used? The problem is I have found different answers for the question mentioned in different sources. Based on Exam Cram 2 the answer is asymmetric. But on Exam Cram 2 Practice Questions in SSL section you find that SSL uses symmetric encryption.

Another example would be PGP which according to Exam Cram 2 "encrypts and decrypts email messages using either RSA or Diffie-Hellman asymmetric encryption schemes." But here in the Security+ Exam I after checking your answers you will find that: "The International Data Encryption Algorithm (IDEA) is a symmetric encryption algorithm that uses a 128 bits key and is applied in PGP systems."

In general is there a good and definite source for encryption topics?

Thanx

Artha

Comments

• Options
    ospreyosprey Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    My observation is that practice questions receive a lot less review than the text. I, too, found some errors in that same Exam Cram 2 practice questions. My suggestion is to just ignore whatever the practice exams say and take the text at their word, instead. Double-checking with another source (which you're doing), though, is a good idea.

SSL employs certificates, which use asymmetric encryption, so the text is correct in that case.
    PGP can apparently use either. Evidence, from the PGP FAQ:
    "IDEA - Developed in Switzerland and licensed for non-commercial use in PGP.
    RSA is the public key encryption method used in PGP."

BTW, the folks at this site have put together nice tech notes on many exams. Their Security+ notes seem to be short on encryption types, but they cover most everything else.
    -Jon
    MCSE 2k3 & 2k, MCSA 2K3 & 2k, Security+
  • Options