VLAN's

jscimeca715jscimeca715 Member Posts: 280
I have a quick question about VLAN's. If a host in VLAN 2 sends a frame to a host in VLAN 1, the host logic tells it to send it to a router first correct? Then the router will check it's ARP table and send it to host in VLAN 1? I'm currently studying for CCENT so this may not be something I'm tested on, but I want to make sure that I understand it.

If that is the case...is it a good comparison to say that a VLAN is like a virtual LAN connection on a router? The only difference being that the VLAN's are implemented at Layer 2, so all Layer 3 addressing rules stay the same?

Comments

• hypnotoadhypnotoad Banned Posts: 915
    I have a quick question about VLAN's. If a host in VLAN 2 sends a frame to a host in VLAN 1, the host logic tells it to send it to a router first correct? Then the router will check it's ARP table and send it to host in VLAN 1? I'm currently studying for CCENT so this may not be something I'm tested on, but I want to make sure that I understand it.

If that is the case...is it a good comparison to say that a VLAN is like a virtual LAN connection on a router? The only difference being that the VLAN's are implemented at Layer 2, so all Layer 3 addressing rules stay the same?

You're right. A host in VLAN2 knows (from its mask) that the host in VLAN1 is outside of it's local network, so it sends the packet to the router instead.
  • jscimeca715jscimeca715 Member Posts: 280
    I don't quite follow what you mean by "(from it's mask)"?
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I don't quite follow what you mean by "(from it's mask)"?

If you had two IP addresses how would you go about finding if they were on the same subnet?
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
    If you had two IP addresses how would you go about finding if they were on the same subnet?