CCNA-Wireless Exam - Update - FAILED :(

redwarriorredwarrior Member Posts: 285
Well, I went to take my CCNA-Wireless today and...I failed. Not by a huge amount, but enough to make me feel like I got my butt kicked.

I was a bit frustrated by a few things, although I do know I need to study more and retake, which is fair. Similar to the CCNP exams I've taken, it isn't enough to just read and study the exam guide on this one, but it also seemed like the emphasis in the exam guide and Cisco practice exams for this exam is not consistent to what is stressed on the actual exam. Topics I studied really hard because they were covered extensively in the exam guide and practice exam were barely touched on in my exam whereas topics that were barely mentioned in either the exam guide or practice exam had many questions. It was also tough to prepare with the Cisco Learning website having periodic issues as well as the practice exam still containing editing marks and messages between the writer and editor as well as incorrect questions, etc. I think Cisco is aware of this and that it probably is reflected in the free retake promotion they are giving.

The exam did not have sims, but I still would recommend plenty of hands-on experience with WCS and the controllers if you can get it. There were a lot of those hated questions in the form of "What tab/button do you click to do x?" For me, I'd rather just have a simulation to do.

I plan on studying hard over the weekend and next week and retaking. I was close enough to passing that another week of dedicated studying ought to do the trick.

CCNP Progress

ONT, ISCW, BCMSN - DONE

BSCI - In Progress

http://www.redwarriornet.com/ <--My Cisco Blog

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Sorry to hear about the fail, but it sounds like you have a good idea of what you need to do to pass.

Good Luck!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.