When to pursue CCIE?

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
After reading gorebrush's post recently i have a few questions of my own.

At the moment i have the NA. Currently i am still at uni PT and have one year to go to finish my BSC Hons degree. At the moment im studying for the BCMSN on a secondary level too. Obviously, my main target is to finish my degree with a decent grading. However i also hope to have done at least 50% of the NP track by the time i finish my degree. As my degree is coming to an end i have begun seriously thinking of my future. Eventually i would like a high end network Architect role. Someone who not only designs systems but also has a strong implementation focus too (i like hands on more). So at the moment i was thinking of the R&S track primarily and eventually backing it up with the design track, voice and/or security. (long term of course). Now it terms of certification how would you's go? i know it depends on the person etc so i'll give some background info shortly. Would you go NP and straight to IE R&S or possibly something like NP > DA > DP > NA:Voice>VP>IE R&S?

now for the background..I am currently 23 years young! working in IT for nearly 7 years. Worked my way up from and apprentice > desktop support L2 > Sys admin > network engineer. Currently i work with cisco switching primarily and handle routing etc secondary. However all of our WAN links are moving to a managed service so i will not get to touch these in the future which is hugely dissapointing for me. I have been working in a networking role for 6 months now so im still learning alot but by the time i finish my degree / NP i should have approx 1 1/1 to 2 years experiance. This is when i will most likely decide which track to take (IE or something else).