Go for Cisco or Juniper?

ccnpninjaccnpninja Member Posts: 1,010 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi networkers,
This may be a casual debate about networking. But let me explain my situation.
I work in a network integration company. We are Juniper Elite Partner (highest partnership tech program). We have a quite nice Juniper routing and security lab.
And we are also Cisco Premium Partner (first step of partnership). I'm studying for CCNP actually.
My boss suggested me to pursue Juniper certs in addition to my cisco studies. However I always was in "enterprise networks" and never tasted SP networks. Besides, I used to think that with Cisco certs, I have more job security than with Juniper. And I'm having CCIE in mind in the future.
What do you guys suggest?

Comments

• cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I know for fact that Sprint has a significant number of both products in their network. I know the may not help you much...just saying.
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    If you work with both then go for both. Juniper certs are not as sought after as Cisco certs, but they definitely won't hurt with some solid experience backing them up. Especially if you want to work in a Juniper shop.

We only have about 5 - 10 Junipers in our network so the Juniper certs are on the back burner for me. Not really as good of a ROI IMO.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    ccnpninja wrote: »
    My boss suggested me to pursue Juniper certs in addition to my cisco studies.
    I agree with your boss icon_eek.gif
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • spaatspaat Member Posts: 39 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Most importantly, if your company is footing the bill, I would go for both. The emphasis would def be more towards Cisco though.
  • Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024