Options

ISSA Membership questions

I'm considering joining a local ISSA chapter. I'm also a student so I can get a big discounted rate in membership. However, I am just taking two classes. Does anyone know how the ISSA classifies "full time"? In it they say you have to be a full time student.

Also besides obviously going to conferences to get continuing education credits towards C|EH and eventually for me CISSP, is being a member of a local ISSA chapter look good in a resume?
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Ben Franklin

"The internet is a great way to get on the net." --Bob Dole

Comments

• Options
    RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□
    mog27 wrote: »
    I'm considering joining a local ISSA chapter. I'm also a student so I can get a big discounted rate in membership. However, I am just taking two classes. Does anyone know how the ISSA classifies "full time"? In it they say you have to be a full time student.

Also besides obviously going to conferences to get continuing education credits towards C|EH and eventually for me CISSP, is being a member of a local ISSA chapter look good in a resume?

Typically full-time student is described at 12 credit hours or more per semester; at least that's how it is here.

Let me ask you this. Do you think listing ISSA affiliation would hurt your resume?
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    Look on the Web page of your local ISSA chapter for details such as what qualifies as a full-time student. If the information isn't there, look on the ISSA main site (Information Systems Security Association) or email them.

What "looks good" on a resume depends on who is reading the resume. If you will be going for an information security position then ISSA will look good. Anyone outside of InfoSec won't know or care what what an "ISSA" is.
  • Options
    unsupportedunsupported Member Posts: 192