OSPF w/ Point-to-point vs Point-to-multipoint

e24ohme24ohm Member Posts: 151
Folks:
I am currently studying for the CCNP BSCI and I'm using the following books at the moment: CCNP BSCI Portable Command Guide by Scott Empson, and CCNP BSCI Official Exam Certification Guide 4th ed. by Brent D. Stewart and Clare Gough.

Right now I am in Chapter 6 of the Official Exam Certification Guide and having a hard time getting to understand OSPF deployed on Point-to-point and/or multi-point. The books says that the easiest way and straightforward way to deploy OSPF in a mesh environment is to use Point-to-Point circuit. Would this be configured as a subinterface?

[stewart, pg. 172] “The third option is to treat each PVC as a separate point-to-point circuit. This is the easiest method to document and to troubleshoot, but create a more involved configuration. This is a very common way to handle this situation.”

Then it says [stewart, pg. 172] “The final option is to create two subinterfaces on Rotuer A. A multipoint interface would use NBMA or broadcast OSPF network types on the interfaces in the A-C-D full mesh, while a point-to-point subinterface would be used on Router A to connect to Router B.”

I am confused, do I create subinterfaces in both cases? I forget, what is the maximum amount of subinterfaces can a physical port have? Doesn't the creation of subinterfaces take more memory?

Thank you,
E
Utini!

Comments

• cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It is best practice to configure your point-to-point on subinterfaces. Multipoint interfaces are configured on the physical interface. On modern routers the use of a subinterface really isn't going to have much effect on your device. There is plenty of memory available.

I found Routing TCP/IP Volume I, Second Edition to be a fantastic resource when it came to the OSPF topics. The BSCI Exam Guide leaves ALOT to be desired in my opinion.

Routing TCP/IP, Volume 1, 2nd Edition - $72.00