My Certification Experience

LazarusLongLazarusLong Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
From the moment you decide to pursue the certification until the moment you walk from the exam room, eveyone has a different set of experiences.

I found this site rather late in the study process and read messages and experiences about the exam.

I studied for a total of about 8 weeks. That may sound short to some, but I've been doing InfoSec work for a few years now and did not see a lot of stuff I hadn't run across before. The texts I used were the AIO and the Wiley Prep Guide. For my last two weeks of study, I put the books down and concentrated on the CramSession Study Guide and the Transcender practice test. In getting my MCSE, I found the Transcender tests invaluable but think that after taking such tests a few times, you see the same questions and tend to memorize the answers, rendering the test ineffective. With that in mind, I only use them in the final stretch.
The exam was held about 30 minutes from my home. I scanned everything one last time the afternoon before, got a good night's sleep and had a good breakfast, then headed off, arriving 30 minutes early. No last minute cramming in the car as I felt by that time I either knew it or didn't. The exam took me about 4-1/2 hours to complete. I read each question slowly, twice, then crossed out what I knew to be incorrect answers and if needed read it again before choosing the right answer. The worst part was when I found the pages of the exam booklet sticking together and three times started marking the wrong item on the ScanTron. I was pretty much ok through the rest of the test. When I finished, I quickly checked to make sure there were no blank items, checked my info on the sheet, and headed home. Like everyone says, I was wiped out by then!

Yesterday I got the confirming email that I passed. icon_cheers.gif