YEA...810 Security+ (2008) SY0-201

dj29152dj29152 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
I would like to thank this forum and its members for helping prepare and pass the Security+ exam.

So you want to know how i did it?
Well... i currently attend NJIT in New Jersey and have completed three years of undergrad courses. I am currently enrolled in BS:Information Technology Concentration: Network Security. So i have been studying this as my major.

The thing is i wanted to complete the exam in Summer 08 but i had an internship and partly got lazy. So i started studying for it in Winter break 08 (about 1 month off) but i realized i would not get serious until I actually schedule it. Note: I have my own business and i am always busy, with NJIT academic in forefront of my mind. So i bought a voucher on ebay and scheduled it for the end of Feb09. However, after one month i still did not read/watch all of the resources i have. Then i got slammed with the hardest semester and with all of the extracurricular i am participating in. Then end of Feb 09 came and i was unprepared. The thing is i knew most of the concepts, but i rather know all of it and not regret it. So then i tried to schedule it again for the Summer 09, but the voucher was going to expire in April 09. That is why i got the voucher for cheap ($160) ... because it was going to expire soon. So i just scheduled it for today (04/07/09).

So how much did i study?
All of my schooling, experience (reading, implementing, internships, work), some prep during Summer 08, Prep during Winter 08... and a little more reading after semester started. Then i completely dropped the subject. However, i am taken courses that mention these topics in depth. Then just yesterday spent 8 hours reviewing and watching CBT. Woke up today and reviewed for about 5 hours of CBT and notes i had written up.

Material:
Syngress Security+ (SY0-101)
Security+ Guide To Network Security+ Fundamentals ... bought it for a course