Question about vacation after starting a new job....

BradleyHUBradleyHU Member Posts: 918 ■■■■□□□□□□
Ok, so i'm sure some of ya'll know I just got a new job @ a women's fashion company. I start there on April 27th. Now i was reviewing the company handbook they give each new employee, and i know I wont have any vacation days for 6 months. However, prior to me receiving an offer from them, I had already booked 3 road trips with my pplz. In all honesty, I didnt even expect to get the job offer. I had been interviewing since September 2008, and hadnt gotten any offers, and prior to my interview with them in mid-March, i hadnt been on an interview since early January this year. And it really hadnt occured to me at any point to mention it during my interview, because i was just kinda excited over the fact that i'm at an interview for the first time in a while, and it completely slipped my mind. I'm going into to talk to my soon-to-be manager about this, but I wanted to know what should I say? I know this is kinda tricky, especially since my road trips are 4 days(memorial day weekend), 5 days(mid june, and 3 days(4th of July Weekend). And like I said already, I have already booked & paid for my flights, and my share of the hotel rooms....
Link Me
Graduate of the REAL HU & #1 HBCU...HAMPTON UNIVERSITY!!! #shoutout to c/o 2004
WIP: 70-410(TBD) | ITIL v3 Foundation(TBD)

Comments

• BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I ran into the same situation last year. Took an offer with a new co. and had booked a weeks vacation while awaiting to start. First day I informed them, and they were vary gracious. I wouldn't start accumulating vacation days for 3 months anyways, so it would just be unpaid time off.

Be up front, and I bet you'll be fine.
  • BradleyHUBradleyHU Member Posts: 918 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Bokeh wrote: »