Exchange 2003 OWA error - 500 Internal

jbayne3jbayne3 Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey All,

I just wanted to first say how great this board and website has been in my pursuit or certifications and studying. Finding this place has probably been the one most consistant resource. Thank you all for the input and posts that have helped me prepare for my exams!

I was also hoping that maybe some Exchange Guru can help me figure out a problem I am having with an Exchange environment (front end/back end configuration). I have inherted this environment, and I must say I am not the most suave admin when it comes to Exchange. All that I know has basically been self taught through tutorials and playing around with Exchange, so there is no formal training.

So here is the deal...

Everytime that a user visits the publicly facing OWA login page on the front end server, they enter their authentication credentials but are given a "HTTP 500 Internal Server Error....This website cannot be displayed" error page. OWA was working fine just last week. All other mail services are working just fine. I also get the following error message in the Event Viewer:

Event ID: 9175 - MSExchangeSA

The MAPI call 'OpenMsgStore' failed with the following error:
The Microsoft Exchange Server computer is not available. Either there are network problems or the Microsoft Exchange Server computer is down for maintenance.
The MAPI provider failed.
Microsoft Exchange Server Information Store
ID no: 8004011d-0526-00000000

Both Servers (front end/back end) run on Windows 2003 SP2, and Exchange 2003 Enterprise Edition SP2.

Thank You,

Jimmy

Comments

• ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637
    Did the System Attendant Service stop running on the Front-End Server?
    Disabling Unnecessary Services
  • jbayne3jbayne3 Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This service is enabled....all of the appropriate services are running on both servers.
  • ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637