Starting BSCI

giggig Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just passed my CCNA exam Friday and I'm starting on my CCNP track. I'm starting with BSCI. I have the Cisco press CCNP BSCI offical exam cert guide 4th edition and the BSCI lab portfolio books.

Are there any other materials that you guys recommend for this?

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Unless you already have lots of routing knowledge and experience, you may want to start off with the BSCI Self Study Guide first.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • keconnect sparkykeconnect sparky Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Good luck with it and congratulations on passing your NA :D

I have been studying for the BSCI for a couple of months now - gotta admit its a toughy! alot harder than the NA materials, although u'd expect that (what i mean is with the NA you need to know of things etc, with the BSCI its not good enough knowing "of them" you need to know everything about it and anticipate why and how you are where you are with the scenario.) its very thorough - not putting you off or anything but just drawing my own experience .... was a shock to the system! (although depends on your experience etc etc)

Good luck and i wish you well :)
  • gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I used the same materials to get through the BSCI.

However, I highly recommend the CBT Nuggest series presented by Jeremy Cioara.
  • CChNCChN Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    mikej412 wrote: »
    Unless you already have lots of routing knowledge and experience, you may want to start off with the BSCI Self Study Guide first.

100% agree. The exam guide is what you read after you've already got the concepts down. I initially used the exam guide as a primary study source and quickly realized it wasn't nearly detailed enough to get me through the exam.

The Self-Study Guide or Doyle's Routing TCP/IP are your best options IMO.
    RFCs: the other, other, white meat.