non-cisco certs for networking people and my particular situation

jrs91jrs91 Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm just wondering if any of them are of much value if my goal is to work in networking and not a mixed networking/systems admin role. Right now I've got 3 years experience running a network in a generalist role (mix of linux/windows/.net&sql programming/voip). It's hurt me in the sense that because of the large variety of tasks I've had to perform, I haven't been able to become really expert in any one thing. I have 5 years in IT, but 3 of those years were as the top guy at the company I'm working for (medium business). I have a record of getting things done. For instance, I developped their crm/sales database in .net/sql from scratch. I deployed an Asterisk voip system, virtualized all the servers, etc. My reference, if an employer calls it, will testify to a very strong work ethic.

I never did any certs because I was finishing university (I'm 29) while I was working 50-60/wk, so I didn't have time for them. I'm correcting the situation with the certs now that I am done. That's where I'm coming from with this post.

I'm working on the CCNP so that i can leave this place and look for a networking job, because that's what I most enjoy and this place is a dead-end careerwise. Are there any other certs that I should be looking at before I start working on more advanced cisco stuff? Ideally I will be able to find something with a cisco partner and that's what I'm going to be focusing my efforts on because I want to do a ccie once I'm done NP. If I could do nothing but networking I wuold be happy.