Passed SY0-201 but Disappointed with Cert

ephemericephemeric Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

Got 840/900 last Tuesday for the exam. I know I could have done better but I didn't want to spend another week preparing for this exam. I just wanted it ASAP. I have five years experience as a Systems Administrator and a Linux+ cert with security as a hobby mostly, up until now.

Used Sybex Security+ Deluxe Study Guide and Mike Myers Passport to Security+. Firstly, let me say that I would have probably barely passed, or failed had I not studied all the notes on this site for Security+. They are the most technically competent notes I came across. Thanks. Well done, keep up the good work. Maybe I can write an article someday?
One guide, no matter what publisher, is not enough unless you have extensive experience and reading/studying time under your belt already. For me, I love FOSS and therefore haven't any Microsoft experience security wise from Windows 98 onwards. Sybex wasted too much time on irrelevant content and Myers was way too little, although the exam tips were spot on most if not all of the time.
However, Transcender (or other practice exams) is what got me hopping.

If I had to do it all over again, here is what I'd do: do this and you will do very well, I think this is one of the most effective ways to go about this business. I used Transcender in my example but I'm sure any reputable vendor will suffice.

Do a practice exam, get a feel for what they're asking. Remember, you don't need to know the whole world of security, all you need to do is answer THEIR questions correctly at the end of the day (I am not for one second advocating that one learn as little as possible to just pass, you're only hurting yourself). Trying assessment questions is not enough, do a full exam BEFORE you start studying.