Options

Cert Path

mike3mike3 Member Posts: 136
Well I think it's time I dive into another certificate this year. However, I'm not sure which direction I should take. I was hoping some of you could point me in the right direction.

I currently hold the following certificates. Comptia A+, Comptia Network+, and my CCNA.

Well unfortunately I have not got enough hands on experience with Cisco devices to pursue the CCNP.

Currently at my job I am mainly a computer support technician with many server duties. However, the server and support duties are all focus on windows machines. I am at heart a *nix guy.

So I guess the real question what certificate would be the best bang for my buck? Should I dive into the Comptia Security+, or Comptia Server+, or something different?

Let me know what you guys think I should choose next.

Comments

• Options
    qwertyiopqwertyiop Member Posts: 725 ■■■□□□□□□□
    id say go for your security+ but thats just me
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    mike3 wrote: »
    Currently at my job I am mainly a computer support technician with many server duties. However, the server and support duties are all focus on windows machines. I am at heart a *nix guy.
    It sounds like some MS certs -- maybe through the MCSA level -- would be a better fit with your current experience. But you could also "broaden your base" for your "next job" by adding the Linux+ Certification. Security is always important, so starting with the Security+ Certification as you rack up experience at your current job is also a good idea.

I don't see any harm in getting the Server+ Certification also -- if you don't mind spending the money (or investing in your future -- depending on how you look at it).