1st IT job advice needed

dimothy10dimothy10 Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear all,

Left university with a degree in Geography (not much help for IT) and ecided I wanted a career in IT for various reasons. While working in a hotel as a front desk person I studied for A+, Network+ and MCDST hoping that these would get me a job. Unfortunately it seems that no such 1st line support job exists in London without a requirement for an MCSA or experience with AD. Am I just looking at an unlucky time or is this normally the case? My other concern is with these IT training companies that seem to be all over the UK. Have had a number of calls from them asking me to pay them for training and then they will guarantee me a job/work experience. Is this where all the 1st line and entry level roles have disappeared to? Or have I just missed the right online job board or industry newspaper? Thanks in advance for any help guidance you could offer this increasingly frustrated individual!

Tim

Comments

• laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    Hi Tim, what you've studied and passed so far is good going. There are jobs around for helpdesk but tis a tough market at the moment and getting your foot in the door is gonna be tough. Thats not to say it wont happen, just takes a little longer thats all. I'd keep up the study if you can so that you can at least discuss AD and other areas if needed. Dont be put of by job adverts saying they want this cert or that one. It's a bench mark and an "ideal" person.
    Most places know they have to compromise somewhere to fill the role (again outside this current climate its easier) If you feel you can do the job and you beleive it's at your level apply for it. Half the fun in this game is getting your CV out to decent (and sometimes not so decent) agents and market yourself as much as possible.
    Keep trying and you will get there icon_smile.gif