Advice on what certification to target?

KujoKujo Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was laid off in March after 3 years at the particular company. I was a Desktop Support Tech. I have over 8 years of experience in total.

I currently have A+ (obtained in 1999), and Network+ certs (obtained in 2005). I was in the process of studying for Server+ as I would like to try target IT job with more networking/server responsibilities. It seems like Server+ is not a cert in demand by employers, and it maybe a waste of time/money getting this cert.

I'm thinking it would make more sense to at least get MCP, and then I could at least branch into more MS cert paths from there. I wouldn't be opposed to getting a Cisco cert, but I understand this wouldn't make much sense without on the job experience. I know CCENT is the entry level Cisce cert, perhaps it would be worth getting.

I've always tried to focus on getting a cert in between jobs to upgrade my skills/resume. I'm really confused this time out. Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• BreadfanBreadfan Member Posts: 282 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Being someone who laid off several times, I can relate to what you are going through. I don't know what area of the country you are in, but when I was out looking for a job 2 years ago, I saw ZERO posts for Server+. The headhunters all liked that I had multiple CompTIA certs, but they REALLY wanted me to have some Microsoft certs (which I did not have at that time)

You said you have 8 years of experience, so why not go with either the 70-620 or 70-290 route? The 70-620 counts towards both the 2003 AND 2008 tracks. The 70-290 would be a good way to break into the server side of things. Plus, you have the 2nd shot til June 30th to help you out as well. That, coupled with this website and the right lab and books, you cant miss.