Options

How should I search for VoIP work these days?

volmeruvolmeru Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, all:

In another thread, I just mentioned to Slowhand and Dynamik that I'm working on my CCVP. I'm currently unemployed, and somewhat new to this forum. I'm a CCNA and a CCNA Voice, and I've studied VoIP since summer of last year. My CCVP lab is very complete; I can train on just about everything (within reason).

I'm wondering how the job market is concerning VoIP, nowadays. I don't have any experience whatsoever with VoIP directly, but I have a FIRM grasp of the concepts and application of such services over an optimized network. I've several years of IT experience (mostly off and on contract work at Fortune 500's), and basically have nothing but time on my hands to thoroughly learn what I need to to be come a 'super voice guy'.

I know that last bit sounded lame, but the last time I heard something like that on this forum, the poster went from 'what's Ethernet' to a CCIE R&S within a very short period of time...! Very inspirational. Congrats, by the way!

What steps should I take to break in to VoIP? Is the CCNA Voice enough, or do I need to try and finish the VP within the next few months before even looking for a voice job? Any suggestions, or am I thinking the wrong way? I have NO idea how to go about this!

@Mikej412: I wish more employers worked like yours does - 'come in to set up a lab, and then we'll call you for an interview.' If even ONE company asked me to do that, I'd be able to set up a CCNA/CCNA Voice-level lab in a very short period of time! Since I saw that post, I started doing drills every morning where I would design a mock network, scratch out the topology on paper, and then set everything up, verifying afterwards with pings, traceroutes, and voice mail messages. I hope to be able to do the same thing with my CCVP lab by the end of this summer (SEP '09).