Options

How much harder is CCENT than Net+

BahshayBahshay Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am studying for Net+ over the course of my summer break from school. CCENT is likely my next step, and the objectives seem actually pretty similar in that they focus on the basics of networking. I realize I need to learn about Cisco routers specifically, but how much more is there to learn after Net+ for CCENT? How much harder will it be?

Also, I simply do not have the money to purchase Cisco equipment at the moment. I know its a good idea to have the equipment for the CCNA, but is it possible to get through CCENT with just a simulator?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    CCENT and CCNA are possible with just a simulator.

The biggest difference is that the CCENT and CCNA focus more on routing protocols and a LOT of subnetting (know that inside and out). With a background of Net+, you have the basics, but now you get into the heavy stuff. I'm studying for the CCNA single test right now, and there is quite a bit more to it than the Net+ stuff. Yes, it's more Cisco specific, but it is also more in depth as far as the networking concepts are. Net+ goes into some of the OS's, where the CCENT is all hardware, wiring and Cisco IOS. No Windows, Linux, Netware, etc... I would say that 99% of it CCNA and CCENT) is based on the lower 3 layers of the OSI model.

I'm sure someone else with more experience than I will chime in, too. But, from all the studying I've done, that's pretty much been what I've seen and come across. And that question has come up quite a bit in various forums and IRC discussions.
  • Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    PC509 wrote: »
    CCENT and CCNA are possible with just a simulator.

This should be qualified a bit. . . most good commercial simulators are a little pricey (the cheapest currently probably being Cisco's $70 package).