Questions on RIS

t3ch_gurut3ch_guru Member Posts: 166
I was wondering since many of you are sys admins/net admin. Anyone familiar with using Ris and ghost on server 03? I am basically trying to deploy computer images to computers that i am working on.

1. How would one go about editing the ris menu.

2. How do I get ris to work without having dhcp in the same box as ris.

I want it to be able to assign an ip without being in the same box. I tried usig our main dhcp server, but it didn't work. We had to enable the scope on the ris box. I know there has to be a way to work it.

As a future sys admin I would like to be able to deploy our computers at a fast rate and not hae to keep installing drivers and software over and over. Why not automate it.
Knowledge is Power.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm not too familiar with RIS, but you're probably missing these options on your DHCP server: DHCP Scope Options for a RIS Server

Is there a reason you're not using WDS? It's the way of the future icon_cool.gif

The only time I still use RIS is for our break/fix department for clean installs of legacy OSes. You can do that with WDS as well, but it looks like it's a PITA to get working, and it's really not worth my time. Even with legacy OSes, you can still use WDS to make an image, so RIS (or a CD) would only have to be used for the first installation of that configuration.
  • t3ch_gurut3ch_guru Member Posts: 166
    I would love to implement wds especially since we mainly using 08 servers. i think we have like maybe 1-2 03 server everything else is running 64bit server 08. I am just following what my IT director want. We are also using GSS+RIS. I mean i guess since we have ghost he wants to temporarily use it. Then I could start using wds since it replaced ris.

Also regarding the link you sent I remember we did those settings and it was still acting up.
    Knowledge is Power.
  • ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637