Cisco 2600 Router Problem.. help!!

mrmcmintmrmcmint Member Posts: 492 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all!

I am a complete noob to the land of cisco stuff, i started learning a year or two back, but decided to continue my MS track first.

Today, I have got round to plugging in my cisco 2600 series router, powered it on, and attempted to connect to it via hyperterminal and a console cable.

I had no idea what state it would be in, or what i had configured it to do when i last used it.

For some reason, when i select com1, 9600 baud rate and the other usuals, it doesnt seem to accept keystrokes. I need to 'factory reset' the thing so i can start the configuration process again.

Please could someone guide me on how to get started again via the console cable? I'm sure i have the correct settings to connect it with:
None
None

Thanks in advance

Comments

• djhss68djhss68 Member Posts: 205
    Are you connecting via serial port on your PC? Or is it serial-usb adapter. I think you use COM3 or 4 when using your USB port.
  • mrmcmintmrmcmint Member Posts: 492 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi
    thanks for the quick reply, i am using the standard blue console cable, connecting it to com1 serial port on laptop. com1 is all i have available in hyperterminal.

Thanks
  • btowntechbtowntech Member Posts: 198 ■■■□□□□□□□
    When using Hyperterminal to connect to the router, are you able to see the boot process?
    BS - Information Technology; AAS - Electro-Mechanical Engineering
    Hi,

Unfortunately not. This is what I hoped to see so not sure where to go from here.

The activity light just flashes every second. I hope it's not toast!!

Thanks
  • tech-airmantech-airman Member Posts: 953
    mrmcmint wrote: »
    Hi,

Unfortunately not. This is what I hoped to see so not sure where to go from here.

The activity light just flashes every second. I hope it's not toast!!

Thanks

mrmcmint,