How did you come to be a business owner or consultant?

dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
It seems like a lot of the more experienced and knowledgeable people here run their own businesses or work as independent consultants. I'm curious as to what motivated you to do that, how you planned and followed through with your course of action, and what the significant obstacles you had to overcome were.

TIA.

Comments

• royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm a consultant for a Chicago-based consulting agency. We're a midwest consulting company that was bought out by a Fortune 100 company.

I was always into computers and decided to go to college for Networking/Management. When I graduated, I got the offer of a lifetime. My current employer called me and explained to me a program that they just started. Basically, they are looking for potential future architects that they want to train up themselves. They interview >100 candidates and only a select few are chosen. The interview process was very rigorous containing over 7 interviews with company architects, management, etc...

So I went to the company's headquarters, when through all the interviews, and they selected me for hire. I then moved out of state for 1 year, and did nothing but go through an extremely rigorous training process where I went out to business with our company architects and senior engineers to learn as well as spend a lot of time studying on labs provided by our company. I poured a lot of time, even my own time, on studying, learning, going through white papers, and just making sure I learn as much as possible. This is why I seem to know more than most people with a typical 2 years of experience.

I am now back in Chicago and it's been a year or so since i went through my rigorous training. Everything has been going well so far and continue to do what I am doing for a long time.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks