Dual-Homed Customer BGP Local Preference Usage

ok, so i'm studying for the bgp exam and i have a question about local preference and how it is used in a Dual-Homed Customer to ISP configuration. Say a customer has two routers peering EBGP to a single ISP. One link is primary (T1) and one is secondary link (fractional T1). My question is would it be most efficient to set up a route-map inbound on the router with the T1 primary connection and match the route-map (via acl) with the default route that the ISP is sending me via EBGP? Then set the local preference higher on the T1 EBGP link so that all traffic within my AS will leave my LAN via the T1 link and not the fractional T1 link. And I know of course that i have to have an IBGP connection on both of my External routers which are peering to the ISP.

I think it is but i thought i would post on here just to make sure my logic is correct. Thanks for your help in advance!

Comments

• keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    ok, so i'm studying for the bgp exam and i have a question about local preference and how it is used in a Dual-Homed Customer to ISP configuration. Say a customer has two routers peering EBGP to a single ISP. One link is primary (T1) and one is secondary link (fractional T1). My question is would it be most efficient to set up a route-map inbound on the router with the T1 primary connection and match the route-map (via acl) with the default route that the ISP is sending me via EBGP? Then set the local preference higher on the T1 EBGP link so that all traffic within my AS will leave my LAN via the T1 link and not the fractional T1 link. And I know of course that i have to have an IBGP connection on both of my External routers which are peering to the ISP.

I think it is but i thought i would post on here just to make sure my logic is correct. Thanks for your help in advance!

I have done this without the use of Ibgp.