Keep This Job or Find A New One

ThePrimetimerThePrimetimer Member Posts: 169 ■■■□□□□□□□
Okay, I might be venting a little a little but this has just been bothering the last couple of weeks. I work for a bank as the application support. They consider it IT, but I have my doubts. I work with bank software, such as programs for loans, mortgages, deposits/credits. Its all proprietary stuff and not want I want to do. I went to school for networking and am very passionate about the field. I am studying for my net+ and love every minute of it! I want a job that I went to school for. Will the job that I am in now (application support) help with getting another job in IT? I keep looking for a different job, but have only been in this job for 8 months and its my first semi-IT job, so I don't have much experience. Looking for any advice you guys could give me.
Thanks for letting me ramble. Feel a little better now.
"You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done"

Comments

• msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
    So when you say you are titled as application support, I assume that means you are fielding phone calls with questions related to the various proprietary programs that are used at your facility and in that case - yes, I would consider that IT. It's not the most enjoyable line of work but many of us get our start along those lines.