Routing / BGP / Dynamips

NeekoNeeko Member Posts: 170
Wasn't sure where to put this but thought more people who would be able to answer would be CCNPs.

In a couple of months I am starting research for my dissertation, I have an idea but without studying some of the protocols involved I'm not sure how acheivable it really is. I am still studying for my CCNA so have not covered BGP yet.

Basically what I want to do is do a written/practical comparison between routing protocols, covering the functionality and suitability of each protocol on the written comparison and focusing on speed of convergence when comparing practically. So firstly I am looking to compare interior protocols including RIP, EIGRP, OSPF and possible iBGP (depending on it's suitability) with the aim of reaching optimal convergence and making recommendations on the application of each protocol. Then if it is viable I was thinking of configuring BGP between a number of Autonomous Systems, and testing how fast BGP converges when each of the above protocols are running inside the Autonomous Systems.

I am still on my work placement and trying to get CCNA finished so I don't have the time to study BGP yet. Is anyone able to tell me whether the routing protocol(s) running in an AS impacts the functionality of BGP enough for this to be a measurable area of comparison?

Furthermore, if labbing such networks using Dynamips and GNS3, will the results be consistent? I appreciate the convergence times may differ to physical devices, but as long as it is consistent throughout it doesn't matter as it will be relative. Will each router run with the same memory usage through, in a consistent fashion as to keep test results reliable? I have no idea about the memory and processer utilisation between devices but need to be sure tests would be reliable.